27.9 C

PNC Executives Quit to Form New Party Amidst Internal Wrangling

The members said they are concerned about a recent court decision to uphold the suspension of the party's General Secretary, Janet Nabla. citing other issues of integrity and credibility within the party's leadership

11 out of 16 members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the People’s National Convention (PNC) have announced their resignation to form a new party following disagreements about a recent high court ruling that upheld the suspension of the party’s General Secretary, Janet Nabla.

Janet Nabla was suspended indefinitely in 2021 over allegations of gross misconduct, insubordination, and incompetence. That decision to suspend Nabla appears to have caused divisions within the party as a faction argued it was unfair that other party members suspended for similar acts of impropriety have been reinstated.

At a press conference today, April 17, the members who have now resigned to form a new party called the People’s National Party (PNP) said they are concerned about the recent court decision, citing issues of integrity and credibility within the party’s leadership.

- Advertisement -

“It is with great sadness that we announce our decision to leave the People’s National Convention (PNC) and form our own party, the People’s National Party (PNP). The decision to depart from the PNC comes as a result of the fact that we disagree with the ruling of the high court of 8th April 2024 for reinstating individuals whom we believe were rightfully dismissed from leadership positions due to financial malfeasance and misconduct,” said Sulemana Seidu, one of the 11 NEC members who resigned.

Join our WhatsApp Channel for more news

Their new party, the PNP now has Janet Nabla as Chairperson, with other interim executives including Francis Oppong as Vice Chairman, Sulemana Seidu as General Secretary, Abdul Kadri Issah as Deputy Secretary, Francis Daasu as National Organiser, Faustina Anane as Deputy Organiser, Jessica Aputare as Treasurer, Zakaria Mohammed as Deputy Treasurer, Patience Lamisi Adams as National Women’s Organiser, Sandra Adepa as Deputy Women’s Organiser, Muniru S. Mohammed as National Youth Organiser, Bright Foto as Deputy Youth Organiser, and Samuel Ayesu as Communication Secretary.

It is not yet clear if this new party will contest the December elections.

While you're here, we just want to remind you of our commitment to telling the stories that matter the most.Our commitment is to our readers first before anything else.

Our Picks



Get the Stories Right in Your Inbox



font-family: "meursault-variable", serif; font-variation-settings: "wght" 100, "wdth" 1;