28.5 C

FIFA to pick host from four bids for 2023 Women’s World Cup by June 25

Barely a year after a very successful women’s FIFA World Cup event in France and three years before the next event, the world governing body of football is making efforts to ensure that the event meets existing standards or even better.

It is on the backdrop of this that the Secretary General of the World Football governing body has confirmed that the FIFA Council is working on the choice of one of the following nations; New Zealand, Brazil, Colombia, Japan and Australia as the host of the 2023 competition and this will be decided in an online meeting by June 25.

All five countries hope to be the host of the nine edition of the competition though without any experience of hosting this event with Australia and New Zealand as a joint bid while Colombia hope to bring the tournament home and leave their mark on the global stage.

- Advertisement -

Read Also:

Runners-up in 2007 Brazil are hoping to fetch their first crown at home if they get the chance to host while Japan hope to host and win their second crown at home.

It is the most competitive bidding process since inception of the competition and FIFA is doing everything to get it right according to their Secretary General, Fatma Samoura.

“FIFA remains committed to implementing the most comprehensive, objective, and transparent bidding process in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup. This is part of our overall commitment to women’s football that, among other things, will see FIFA invest USD 1 billion in women’s football during the current cycle,” Madam Fatma stated.

- Advertisement -

FIFA is finalizing its reports after inspection of all bidding sites.

The world Football governing body with the efforts of its council will decide the host through a voting process whose results will be published by online.

The 32-nations FIFA competition is one of the events in need of much effort to give it the attention it deserves.

Though multiple sports events in the world have been postponed due to the Coronavirus pandemic, it is hoped the FIFA Council announces the host soonest so preparations can begin right away.

USA [four trophies] and Germany [two trophies] have won six of the previous eight competitions between them while Japan and Norway won in the other editions.

June 25 is therefore the date for the disclosure of the venue for the next Women’s football party on the heels of an unforgettable 24 nation’s event in France.

While you're here, we just want to remind you of our commitment to telling the stories that matter the most.Our commitment is to our readers first before anything else.

Our Picks



Get the Stories Right in Your Inbox